Wednesday 22nd March 2023

Bypoll Election Results 2016 Live Update: BJP retains Nepanagar seat in MP, Congress’ V Narayanasamy wins Nellithope seat in Puducherry

Nov 22nd, 2016 7:53 am | By | Category: LATEST NEWS

Bypoll Election Results 2016 Live Update: BJP retains Nepanagar seat in MP, Congress’ V Narayanasamy wins Nellithope seat in Puducherry

Counting of votes was underway for four Lok Sabha and eight Assembly Constituencies, spread across six States and one Union Territory where by-elections were held on Saturday. The results are slowly coming out under the shadow of political slugfest following Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s decision to demonetise Rs 500 and Rs 1000 currency notes. The elections for bypolls to Lakhimpur (Assam), Shahdol (Madhya Pradesh) and Coochbehar and Tamluk (West Bengal) Lok Sabha constituencies along with bypolls to a total of 9 Assembly seats in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and Puducherry were held on November 19.

BJP has retained Nepanagar Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh with party nominee Manju Dadu winning by a margin of 42,198 votes. Party MP Ananth Kumar in Lok Sabha said people have given their verdict, BJP has won Lok Sabha by-elections in Madhya Pradesh.

By-elections were held for the Shahdol parliament seat and the Nepanagar assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh because the sitting BJP lawmakers died. BJP is also leading in Shahdol parliamentary constituency.

These were the first elections held after the BJP-led government of Prime Minister Narendra Modi banned 500 and 1,000 rupee notes to combat black or untaxed money, and are being watched to see if there is any impact of that decision.

By-elections were held in six states and one union territory – Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, West Bengal, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

In Arunachal Pradesh, Desingu Pul, the wife of former chief minister Kalikho Pul, who committed suicide in August, is contesting his assembly seat Hayuliang as a BJP candidate. The BJP backs the state government after Chief Minister Pema Khandu broke away from the Congress.

In Assam, which the BJP won this year, by-elections were held for the Lakhimpur parliament seat which Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal vacated. Also the Baithalangso assembly seat as the Congress candidate who had won in May joined the BJP.

In West Bengal, by-elections were held for one assembly seat – Monteswar – and two parliament seats – Coochbehar and Tamluk – all held by the Trinamool Congress of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Trinamool Congress leading in the both parliamentary seats.

In Tamil Nadu, by-elections were held for Thanjavur and Aravakurichi assembly seats where polling was cancelled during the state elections this year because of allegations that parties were bribing voters. Also for the Thiruparankundram assembly seat. All three are direct contests between the ruling AIADMK and chief opposition the DMK.

Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy has won Nellithope Assembly seat. Mr Narayanasamy is a Lok Sabha lawmaker and needed to become a member of the state assembly within six months of being sworn in chief minister.

In Tripura, the Congress and the ruling CPM defend an assembly seat each in Barjala and Khowai.

Government News

Comments are closed.